1

If I compose a new message, or reply to an existing message, mutt launches my editor. Then if I exit my editor with the mail unchanged mutt will discard the in-progress new mail or reply and drop me back to the mail folder view with "Abort unmodified message". On the other hand, if I exit my editor with a change made (even if it is to save a new copy of exactly the same file, just to update the timestamp) then mutt takes me back to the "Compose" view.

Can I get the latter behaviour always? It's very frustrating to type out a long list of email addresses only to lose them because of "Abort unmodified message".

1

The desired behaviour can be obtained by adding the line set abort_unmodified=no to .muttrc.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.