1

Let's assume that I'm not going to remember to hit shift-delete every time I remove (temporary) files on a network share, or to delete using rm when I'm working on the share (as discussed previously for USB drives).

My temporary files when working on a particular samba share can be rather large and clutter the drive up when deleted (typically using Thunar), which displeases the owner of the share. I'd like to not create the .Trash-1000 directory in the first place, while maintaining the normal behaviour on local drives. Is there some way (client-side) to disable this? Or an alternative method I haven't thought of to prevent the creation, or remove the folder once created?

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.