RHEL 8 deprecated pam_tally2 command. Earlier version pam_tally command provides us number of failures count. e.g

[root@Linux7 ~]# pam_tally2
Login           Failures Latest failure     From
testNG_Admin        2    08/21/19 04:58:57  /deve/pts/0

As pam_faillock is replaced pam_tally2, now we would like to use faillock command.

But the issue is faillock command does not give failure count instead it gives all details.


[root@bsingh-vm4 ~]# faillock
When                Type  Source                                           Valid
When                Type  Source                                           Valid
2019-08-22 18:36:41 RHOST                                        V
2019-08-22 18:36:46 RHOST                                        V
2019-08-22 18:36:51 RHOST                                        V

Is there any way by which I can get count using some command? e.g.

a735c  0
ajit  3

Thanks in advance!!!

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.