0

I've found a lot of inconsistent documentation on single user mode. I don't need to use it often, but I get curious, and I remember not being to use shut down commands in single user mode and pressing the reset button. Is there a better way to leave single user mode after resetting passwords?

  • 1
    Single mode is not a well-defined concept, you should tell people which init and sevice management system you're using. Usually for systemd systems, systemctl poweroff still works fine. – 炸鱼薯条德里克 Mar 27 at 4:06
  • 1
    If all else fails, you can try the old init 0. – Panki Mar 27 at 7:33
  • Ok that explains my confusion. I've booted into it on a few differant machines with differant distros and even an old mac. I didn't intend this to be specific question. I think I had an error when I tried systemctl poweroff, but maybe that was on the macpro.. – volare Mar 28 at 13:38
0

What do you have running in single user mode? Are databases running etc. etc. If you are worried then I would run

sync 

then

shutdown -i 0  (though depends on what flavor you are using) 
  • 1
    This is mostly an idle curiousty. The only reason I know about single user mode is because I had to reset a password on an ~2003 macpro that somebody donated. – volare Mar 28 at 13:12

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.