1

How can I disable the message below when a specific user logs into a Centos machine from console?

Last failed login: Sun Jun 30 22:32:35 EST 2018 from 192.168.142.71 on ssh:notty
There were 3 failed login attempts since the last successful login.

Note: the user is non-root user.

1

Assuming CentOS 7.

~# cat /etc/pam.d/postlogin 
#%PAM-1.0
# This file is auto-generated.
# User changes will be destroyed the next time authconfig is run.

session     [success=1 default=ignore] pam_succeed_if.so service !~ gdm* service !~ su* quiet
session     [default=1]   pam_lastlog.so nowtmp showfailed
session     optional      pam_lastlog.so silent noupdate showfailed

Here showfailed option is responsible for the message about failed logins.

Note: On my machine authconfig is not installed by default, so I'm not too worried about changes being destroyed.

Simply removing this option will disable the message for all users. AFAIK per-user PAM configuration is kinda silly, this is what I came up with:

# cat /etc/pam.d/postlogin 
#%PAM-1.0
# This file is auto-generated.
# User changes will be destroyed the next time authconfig is run.

session     [success=ignore default=3] pam_succeed_if.so user in that_non_root_user
session     [success=1 default=ignore] pam_succeed_if.so service !~ gdm* service !~ su* quiet
session     [default=4]   pam_lastlog.so nowtmp
session     [default=3]   pam_lastlog.so silent noupdate
session     [success=1 default=ignore] pam_succeed_if.so service !~ gdm* service !~ su* quiet
session     [default=1]   pam_lastlog.so nowtmp showfailed
session     optional      pam_lastlog.so silent noupdate showfailed
  • Thanks a lot mikst. Is there any problem to remove authconfig? As it says "User changes will be destroyed the next time authconfig is run". – Hamid Reza Aug 19 '18 at 17:29
  • AFAIK, authconfig is like NetworkManager for credentials, it's an additional tool that can help setup things for you. I believe it is used by installer, but not installed on the system itself by default. So unless you or someone else installed it, there shouldn't be a problem. – mikst Aug 20 '18 at 15:01

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.