1

I made this nice custom KDE setup on Arch Linux with customised settings like desktop background, panel settings, kwin settings, etc. I heard that if you copy all the hidden files from your /home/"dummy user"/ to /etc/skel it would copy my settings exactly the way they are from "dummy user" to all newly created users created after this procedure.

I got what I wanted, which is copying my desktop interface to all newly created users on the system. But it keeps giving me all these password windows saying I need permission from "dummy user" to use certain files and apps like Nepomuk. How do I get these prompts to go away so the next user I make doesn't see them? What files do I stay away from to avoid hitting user specific data?

1 Answer 1

1

Seems to me some configurations have absolute paths to your dummy user's home, you might need to change that to get rid of those password windows.

find /home/nextuser/.kde* -type f \
     -exec sed -i -e "s:/home/dummyuser:/home/nextuser:" {} +
4
  • what does this comand do?
    – nick
    Commented Jul 30, 2012 at 1:44
  • It replaces the string "/home/dummyuser" by "/home/nextuser" where nextuser is your new user where the kde config has been copied.
    – tripledes
    Commented Jul 30, 2012 at 19:01
  • so do i run this before i log in to the new user for the first time or after i log in because if it is after i log in it is pointless.
    – nick
    Commented Jul 30, 2012 at 22:37
  • I'd run it before.
    – tripledes
    Commented Jul 30, 2012 at 22:44

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .