As anyone who has used
usermod to add a user to a group knows, invariably a mistake will be made (probably once in a career and not again) in which
-a is forgotten and the secondary groups are overwritten with
uucp or some other group with low permissions, locking the user out.
What is the historical reason for the default for usermod being to exhibit the behaviour that few people want of overwriting the secondary groups?