1

I have been trying out various synaptics settings (using synclient) and want to revert them all.

(I want to get a clean post-boot state for a final test before commiting the changes to the config file.)

How can I revert the synclient changes to the post-boot configuration without rebooting?

Is there a way of dumping / restoring configuration?

  • What kind of edits did you apply? – mattia.b89 Mar 25 '18 at 13:38
  • I was using synclient - question updated to reflect this. – Tom Hale Mar 28 '18 at 9:50
2

I just did a man synclient and the only file it refers to is /etc/X11/xorg.conf. That's not definitive proof of anything, but it's a good place to start. If you're using Wayland instead of X, I have no idea.

I don't know exactly when that file gets read, but it's sure to be read when X11 starts, so if you replace it with a backup and restart X that should do it.

Doing so will get you and any other GUI users logged out in the process which is a bit inconvenient.

If you're going to be doing this a lot, then you could write a script that builds two commands/scripts (or just do it manually), one to modify the settings and one to put them back using synclient. IIRC, changes made with synclient take place immediately, so you should be able to undo anything you've changed on the fly.

If you run synclient without any arguments, it will list all the current settings (before you modify things) so you can capture their values for the restore script. You'll have to parse and process the output yourself, but it's just key-value pairs, so it's not too hard.

I thought that maybe you could have a local user setup for X11, but it appears that this is not possible by design. However, the article shows a possible workaround for that if you really need it.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.