0

So my situation is as follows: I'm using BackInTime (which uses rsync) to run full, incremental backups of my 3 TB drive to another 3 TB drive. I've done such a full backup once and have around 100GB of free storage space on the backup drive. Now I moved around many GBs of files on the drive I want to have backed up and also renamed some files and directories.

What would be the best way to create a new backup / update the existing backup without having to first delete the old backup to free up space?

I don't think that BackInTime recognizes that files or directories have been moved or renamed, does it? (Maybe it will support this at some point?)
I only need one snapshot / backup. So the old one should get deleted somehow during the backup. But I'm not sure how BackInTime could do that. The Auto-remove option If free space is less than... might be relevant here. In the case that BackInTime here needs to delete some backed up files in a way that causes some files currently on my drive not being backed up I'd like to keep that amount minimal and if possible specify unimportant directories.

I'm using Debian 9 with KDE and the EXT4 filesystem.

  • 1
    I did this once and it was basically just painful and tedious. One option is to rsync one directory at a time (/maindrive/mainname to /backupdrive/backupname for example). Another is to sha1sum and delete duplicates on /backupdrive and let BackInTime copy over the same files again. Easiest solution is to buy, borrow, or steal a new drive at least temporarily. – barrycarter Sep 8 '17 at 23:17
1

Copy from my FAQ:

How to move large directory in source without duplicating backup?

If you move a file/folder in source BiT will treat it like a new file/folder and create a new backup file for it (not hard-linked to the old one). With large directories this can fill up your backup drive quite fast. You can avoid this by moving the file/folder in the last snapshot, too.

  1. create a new snapshot
  2. move the original folder
  3. manually move the same folder inside BiTs last snapshot in the same way you did with the original folder
  4. create a new snapshot
  5. remove the overlast snapshot (the one where you moved the folder manually) to avoid problems with permissions when you try to restore from that snapshot

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.