syslog usually filter out output trace messages with predefined tag types like: dbg, info, note, warn, err, crit, alert, emerg, etc.

What is the proper way to enable/disable syslog filtering during fresh compiled software investigation?

The only way is to alter the file /etc/rsyslog or there is a command (a software) allowing dynamically enable/disable certain syslog level and so it would be easy to include into the batch file:

  1. enabling certain syslog level messaging
  2. executing tested application
  3. restore original syslog levels
  • it's appeared that much easier is to configure and use syslog-ng instead of rsyslog one. detailed manual with examples on syslog-ng is available [here] (balabit.com/documents/syslog-ng-pe-latest-guides/en/…) – Oleg Kokorin Aug 16 '17 at 16:19
  • following is the complete list of user application level messages: 0 Emergency: system is unusable 1 Alert: action must be taken immediately 2 Critical: critical conditions 3 Error: error conditions 4 Warning: warning conditions 5 Notice: normal but significant condition 6 Informational: informational messages 7 Debug: debug-level messages – Oleg Kokorin Aug 16 '17 at 16:27

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.