2

Sometimes I use Aptitude in visual mode[1] to install and upgrade packages.

When I upgrade from the command line using apt or aptitude I often use full-upgrade instead of safe-upgrade[2] because I run the testing flavour of Debian, but which one is used in Aptitude visual mode?

Basically, what really happens when I press U?

If it's one way or another, is there a way to configure the default behaviour, or to decide manually which one to use?


[1] The GUI. Some call this a TUI.
[2] Formerly called upgrade and dist-upgrade respectively.

5

Neither.

When you press U, every package which can be upgraded is flagged for upgrade, except for packages that are held back or would be upgraded to a forbidden version. This isn’t the same as either safe-upgrade or full-upgrade on the command line, because conflicts aren’t resolved fully: the upgrade flagging can result in (tentatively) broken packages, which you’ll see indicated by the number of broken packages, but Aptitude won’t do anything about those breakages simply as a result of pressing U. You can resolve any conflicts manually, or you can ask Aptitude to show you the various resolution possibilities using e, . and , to navigate, and ! to apply a resolution.

In the code itself, the U handling is closer to safe-upgrade than to full-upgrade, because it ignores removals initially. But as mentioned above, it’s not quite the same.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.