2

I am using mutt to read emails from 2 accounts Gmail and Yahoo. I notice that if I mark, for example, 3 of my yahoo emails for deletion, and then press, say F2, to switch to Gmail, Mutt will ask me whether I want to purge those 3 messages before syncing the yahoo account; it will not switch to gmail until the next F2 press though.

However, Mutt will not ask the same question if I mark some Gmail emails to delete and switch to yahoo; it automatically expunges the marked-to-be-deleted messages. If I press the dollar symbol $ or quit Mutt, it will still ask to purge messages.

Why is the difference?

1
  • 1
    Hi @roaima. Yes I am using IMAP for both of them.
    – Ken Brown
    Jan 5, 2017 at 13:16

1 Answer 1

0

The behavior of asking for purging is the default. It should only not occur if you have set delete=yes somewhere. However, the fact that this only happens for one of the two accounts suggests that you are using two different configs.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.