25

I've looked through the man pages so this might be asking in vain. I get annoyed at the confirmation message for kill-window (Ctrl-b & or Ctrl-b kill-window on the default setup). This always gives:

Confirm 'kill-window'? (y/n)

Personally, I would essentially never hit Ctrl-b & unintentionally. Is there any way to disable this prompt, or prompts in general in tmux?

1 Answer 1

34

By default <Prefix> & is bound to confirm-before -p "kill-window #W? (y/n)" kill-window. The use of confirm-before causes the prompting. If you do not want the confirmation prompt, then just rebind & directly to kill-window:

bind-key & kill-window

You may also want to rebind x, too. It defaults to a confirming version of kill-pane; though you might want to consider whether this one might be too easy to accidentally type before removing the confirmation.

bind-key x kill-pane

Note: Both examples above are suitable for direct inclusion in .tmux.conf, but you could also type them into a <Prefix> : prompt, or type them into a shell after tmux (though you would have to quote/escape & since it usually special to the shell).

I think those are the only default bindings that use confirm-before. You can check your particular configuration like this:

tmux list-keys | grep confirm-before
2
  • 2
    ... hallelujah!
    – Purrell
    Jan 29, 2012 at 22:37
  • bind-key X kill-pane Oct 25, 2019 at 15:19

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .