0

I use XFCE because it's so lightweight, but it's the most shitty GUI environment I've ever seen, including Windows 95. I just installed a plain Debian with xfce and I created one bottom panel with clock, window buttons and applications menu. Afterwards I logged off (through applications menu button) and I logged as root to add main user to sudo group.

After logging back to main user, panel was gone. Since that was the last panel, I have no idea what to do now.

  • Panels are managed by right-clicking a panel, so my question is: how do I manage (restore) panels once they're gone. However since then I noticed it's just some bug - on further logins the panel appears after error prompt announcing that no panel is running... – Tomáš Zato - Reinstate Monica Oct 6 '15 at 13:03
  • @clearkimura Yeah, if it wasn't for that context menu, I'd be lost. Shortcut keys also work, even newly defined ones. – Tomáš Zato - Reinstate Monica Oct 6 '15 at 14:02
1

You can restore a new Xfce panel from the Xfce Settings Manager. It can be accessed either from the context menu (right-click on mouse) or the run dialog.

  • From context menu: On Xfce Desktop, do right-click to open the context menu and go to Applications > Settings > Settings Manager

  • From run dialog: Press Alt+F2 to show run dialog, then type xfce4-settings-manager and press Enter

In the Xfce Settings Manager, look for menu called Panel and click on it. If you don't have any Xfce panel running, a dialog box appear like screenshot and asking "Do you want to start the panel? ..." like so.

xfce4-panel-question-dialog

In the dialog box, click Execute. The result: an empty, new panel will appear somewhere on the Desktop (may be an unextended panel at 10% size). On the empty panel, user can do a right-click and click Panel Preferences... already.

Important: Save the changes before log out.

Ensure to select the option Save session for future logins, then only log out. Log in again and user will see the panel remains intact.

Finally, the next time you log out, you should deselect/remove the option to avoid making unnecessary changes.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.