Hot answers tagged

1

i believe auto is always performed as root, and user option is only tells to the mounter that it allows accept requests from simple users. here is what happening: you insert drive, system recognize it, automount it (as root) and user become unable to unmount it if user is not in the root group. you can delete auto option from fstab, leave user option and ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible