We have an automated sync-routine that uses useradd to create new users on a Ubuntu 10.04 machine. The application launching the routine provided both username and CRYPT-encrypted password. However, ...
If the second field of the /etc/shadow file is set to !!, does it mean that the account is disabled? Or does it mean that the account is active with no password assigned?