Take the 2-minute tour ×
Unix & Linux Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for users of Linux, FreeBSD and other Un*x-like operating systems.. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I am trying to restore a VM but I get this error message:

enter image description here

I think this happened because, while the VM was live, I removed one snapshot.

How do I fix this, short of restoring older snapshots?

NOTE: This problem happens when I use version 4.0.4. Version 3.2.10 allows me to delete a snapshot of a VM, even though it's live. I guess it's a regression... watch me downgrading.

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

If I understand the situation correctly, then it's quite a severe situation. VirtualBox snapshots are incremental, so later ones depends on earlier ones. When you delete one snapshot VirtualBox does some processing to "merge" the snapshots, that's why it's not very fast to delete a snapshot.

I haven't tried it, but VirtualBox shouldn't let you delete snapshots while the virtual machine is running. In case you somehow managed to do it, I think all hope is lost. I hope you can restore the machine to an earlier snapshot.

share|improve this answer
    
See my updated question. –  Tshepang Feb 25 '11 at 9:17

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.