Take the 2-minute tour ×
Unix & Linux Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for users of Linux, FreeBSD and other Un*x-like operating systems.. It's 100% free, no registration required.

When opening a tab which needs to mount a Samba share, Nautilus 2.30.1 displays a window:

Password required for share xxx on localhost

Password: [           ]

(*) Forget password immediately
( ) Remember password until you log out
( ) Remember forever

               [Cancel] [Connect]

How can one set the default to something other than "Forget password immediately"?

share|improve this question

migrated from superuser.com Feb 12 '11 at 19:34

This question came from our site for computer enthusiasts and power users.

1 Answer 1

Changing the default to "Remember password until you log out" was filed as a GNOME bug. The fix went into the mainline in July 2010, and was part of GNOME 2.31.5, so if you update you should get this behavior automatically. As far as I can tell from this comment, it's still not user-configurable, but at least you'll have a more useful default

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.