I went to a CentOS terminal, and someone was logged in doing work. I hit Ctrl+Alt+F2 to try to get to my own session so I could check something. When I hit Ctrl+Alt+F1 to get back, X did not come back up and gave a bunch of error messages.
Is this a bug? Did that other user just lose all the work they had running? It seems like if I had to kill all X and do a
startx again, he would lose everything running in the terminals and other GUI apps, right?