Often I'll execute a command in bash, press the up arrow to retrieve it from history, edit it, and execute the edit. However, sometimes I'll decide to discard the edit and run a different command or something. This poses a problem because the edited command, which I didn't run, gets saved over top of the original history entry so I can no longer run the original with ease.
For example, here's the end of my current history:
2132* svn cleanup && svn up --set-de 2133 history
The first command was originally
svn cleanup && svn up --set-depth=infinity folder1 folder2.
Is there a way to disable overwrites or revert them to the original commands?