Unix & Linux Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for users of Linux, FreeBSD and other Un*x-like operating systems. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I got a Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2450M CPU @ 2.50GHz CPU here , not sure which module should be enabled for EDAC:

enter image description here

Chipset: Inter Coporation 6 Series/C2000 , driver in use: i801_smbus

share|improve this question
One option to find out is to compile them all as modules, then boot the machine and see which one gets loaded. I used to try and figure out which exact modules where required for booting my system, but it turned out to just be a lot of work and with the smallest changes in set up I had to figure out the kernel configuration all over again. When disk space is not an issue, I'd compile the default set of modules or all (/most). – jippie May 16 '12 at 7:29
It depends on your motherboard chipset more than your CPU. – cjm May 16 '12 at 8:15
@cjm, not anymore. Memory controller on all Nehalem and newer is built into the CPU, not the North Bridge. So as long as the motherboard supports it (need more wires from memory to CPU since ECC uses 9 bits to store 8 bits with the extra redundancy), plugging in different CPU's can give you the ECC capability. – Marcin May 16 '12 at 14:59
up vote 1 down vote accepted

The right answer is Sandy Bridge, after digging a bit in Intel's site.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.