Take the 2-minute tour ×
Unix & Linux Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for users of Linux, FreeBSD and other Un*x-like operating systems.. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I used

sudo apt-get purge [package_name]

and

sudo apt-get autoremove --purge

to remove an application so that on reinstalling it gets back to default configuration. But it didn't work, all previous modified configuration were still there.

On searching I found a dir in "/root/.[package_name]". Does apt-get purge remove config files stored in user home dir? If not then how to remove them?

share|improve this question
1  
If that would be the case, imagine what would happen if the sysadmin updates (= delete old + install new version of) the browser? All users would lose their personal data like bookmarks and stored passwords. apt-get never touches the home directories, for a good reason. –  Marco May 13 '12 at 8:54
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 6 down vote accepted

No, it only removes shared configuration files, like those in the /etc directory. That's because only those are installed with the package by dpkg(part of the archive).

The ones in the home folders of the users are usually created at runtime by the application(eg. wine creating the initial WINEPREFIX).

share|improve this answer
add comment

No , it doesn't usually.

It will remove things in /etc (that belongs to the package) if your purge the package. that's where usually configuration files are stored.

Read document here

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.