Take the 2-minute tour ×
Unix & Linux Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for users of Linux, FreeBSD and other Un*x-like operating systems.. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I was working with Gnome 3 network settings, and accidentally clicked the "Hide" button on a VPN disconnect notification. Unfortunately, this means whenever my VPN gets disconnected, it doesn't say anything.

Is there any way to get this back?

I'm thinking deleting my configuration folder should work, but presumably there's an easier way (I hope).

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

I found one solution just now:

  • Install gconf-editor if necessary
  • Open gconf-editor ("ConfigurationEditor" in the menu)
  • Open /apps/nm-applet in the left panel
  • In the right panel, uncheck disable-vpn-notifications (or other notifications)

Presumably other Gnome 3 notifications are similar.

Hopefully someone else knows of a more user-friendly way of doing this.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.